2020 Music Education Innovator Award Semi-finalists

We had the pleasure of learning about over 100 innovative music programs happening in schools across the country. Our panelists had the difficult job of narrowing this number down to 32. So without further ado, here we recognize the following teachers who have moved on to the next round for consideration of the 2020 Give A Note Music Education Innovator Award. Congratulations!

Ashleigh Spatz, Burgess-Peterson Academy, Atlanta, GA
Brian Gallagher, Ramona High School, Riverside, CA
Cale Patton, Dawes Elementary, Chicago, IL
Catherine Holloway, Georgia Academy for the Blind, Macon, GA
Cody Duff, Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Magnet, Nashville, TN
Courtney Powers, South Philadelphia High School, Philadelphia, PA
David Greenbaum, Visitacion Valley Middle School, San Francisco, CA
David Milnes, Egg Harbor Township High School, Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Henry Miller, Sierra Vista Middle School, Irvine, CA
Jasmine Faulkner, Polaris Expeditionary Learning School, Fort Collins, CO
Jessica Swanson, Paakuma’ K-8 School, San Bernardino, CA
Jordan Lee, Western Guilford High School, Greensboro, NC
Kris Gilbert, Tioghnioga Riverside Academy, Whitney Point, NY
Kristy Pagan, Amelia Earhart Elementary, Hialeah, FL
Liesl Purviance, Waltersville School, Bridgeport, CT
Lisa Judkins, Trinity North Elementary, Washington, PA
Logan Caywood, Jardine STEM & Career Explorations Academy, Wichita, KS
Matthew Lyons, Oak Park Elementary, San Diego, CA
Natalie Wilson, Grass Valley Elementary, Camas, WA
Nicholas Popovich, Shea Middle School, Phoenix, AZ
Rosa Rabinovich, Norman S. Edelcup Sunny Isles Beach K-8 School, Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Ryan Mack, P.S. 52K Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn, NY
Shane Colquhoun, Loachapoka High School, Loachapoka, AL
Stephen Simmons, Cook Elementary, Grand Blanc, MI
Suzanne Spencer, Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush, Philadelphia, PA
Terry Little, Tonawanda Elementary , Elm Grove, WI
Thomas Insall, Newburg High School, Newburg, MO
Tiffany Cox, Lake Worth High School, Lake Worth, FL
Tobias Sparks, Loma Vista Immersion Academy, Petaluma, CA
Virginia Williamson, Florence Elementary, High Point, NC
Warren Mize, East Central High School, Houston, TX
Zachary May, White Plains High School, White Plains, NY

These outstanding teachers are in the process of answering some follow up questions and putting together short videos to highlight their programs. Our esteemed panelists will review them and then help to select the finalists. Finalists will be announced in late February 2020. Stay tuned!

Click here to learn more about the Music Education Innovator Award and to read about the past recipients.

Related Blog Posts

See All Posts